Skip to content

Mahoning County primary election: What you need to know

You can check to see if you're registered or find out what's on your ballot in our March primary primer.
getty stock election 2020
Getty Images

For Trumbull County voter information, go here. For Columbiana County voter information, go here

YOUNGSTOWN — Early voting is underway for the primary at county board of elections offices around the Mahoning Valley and they are offering extended or weekend hours in the run up to the election on March 17.

Elections offices in Mahoning, Trumbull and Columbiana counties are open from 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. Monday through Friday; from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. Saturday, March 14; from 1 p.m. to 5 p.m. Sunday, March 15; and from 8 a.m. to 2 p.m. Monday, March 16.

Early voting is conducted only at county board of elections offices, and only until 2 p.m. March 16. All later votes must be done on election day at your voting precinct.

There's no deadline to apply for an absentee ballot, but the returned ballot must be postmarked by March 17.

To apply for an absentee ballot, visit the Mahoning County Board of Elections offices, 345 Oak Hill Ave. Entrance A, Youngstown, or call the offices at 330-783-2474. You can also download the absentee ballot application here, which must be returned to your county board of elections office.

Mahoning County elections clerk Dante Lewis recommended voters "request one as soon as possible."

Be sure to include your voting precinct and registered political affiliation, so you can receive the correct ballot. On Tuesday, March 17, the polls in each county will be open from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m.

Below is a list of candidates and issues that will appear on ballots in Mahoning County, followed by secure online tools you can use to check your voter registration or get registered right now.

Here's what's on your ballot

The Mahoning County Board of Elections has released a finalized list of candidates and issues that will appear on the March 2020 primary ballot.

This list includes only candidates currently set to run opposed in the November 2020 general election.

Mahoning County


Term beginning Jan. 2, 2021

Anthony T. Traficanti of Poland (D, incumbent)

Grant W. Williams of New Middletown (R)

Term beginning Jan. 3, 2021

David C. Ditzler of Austintown (D, incumbent)

Steve Kristan of Canfield (R)


Paul J. Gains of Youngstown (D, incumbent)

Marty Desmond of Poland (R)


Noralynn Palermo of Youngstown (D, incumbent)

Brian Devine of Canfield (R)


David Kennedy of Canfield (D, incumbent)

John J. Vargo of North Jackson (R)


Austintown Township: 0.6-mill, renewal of 5-year levy for current expenses

Beaver Township: additional 2.9-mill, 5-year levy for police

Poland Local Schools: renewal of 3.4-mill, 5-year levy for emergency requirements

City of Salem: renewal of 1-mill levy for recreational purposes

Sebring Village: Gas aggregation

Liquor options

Canfield City Precinct 2: Brunchin' It Up, East Main St., weekly and Sunday

Craig Beach Village 1: Castaway Craigs, Grandview Road, Sunday

Boardman Township 1: Café India, Boardman Poland Road, weekly and Sunday

U.S President

Donald J. Trump (R, incumbent)

Michael Bennett (D)

Joseph R. Biden Jr. (D)

Michael R. Bloomberg (D)

Cory Booker (D) (withdrew)

Pete Buttigieg (D)

Tulsi Gabbard (D)

Amy Klobuchar (D)

Deval Patrick (D)

Bernie Sanders (D)

Tom Steyer (D)

Elizabeth Warren (D)

Andrew Yang (D) (write-in)

U.S. House of Representatives

U.S. Representative 6th District

Bill Johnson of Marietta (R, incumbent)

Kenneth Morgan of Chesapeake (R)

Shawna Roberts of Belmont (D)

U.S. Representative 13th District

Tim Ryan of Howland (D, incumbent)

Christina M. Hagan of Alliance (R)

Duane Hennen of Warren (R)

Louis G. Lyras of Campbell (R)

Richard A. Morckel of Akron (R)

Jason Mormando of Youngstown (R)

Robert J. Santos of Youngstown (R)

Donald Truex of Rittman (R)

Michael Fricke of Kent (L)

Ohio House of Representatives

State Representative 58th District

Michele Lepore-Hagan of Youngstown (D, incumbent)

David T. Simon of Youngstown (R)

State Representative 59th District

Don Manning of New Middletown (R, incumbent)

Chris Stanley of Canfield (D)

Ohio Supreme Court


Term beginning Jan. 1, 2021

Sharon L. Kennedy (R, incumbent)

John P. O'Donnell (D)

Term beginning Jan. 2, 2021

Judi French (R, incumbent)

Jennifer Brunner (D)


Get registered to vote

The last day to register to vote in the March 17 primary election was Tuesday, Feb. 18. The registration deadline for the August special election is July 6. The registration deadline for the November general election is Oct. 5.

You can check your voter registration or register to vote online using these secure tools below, powered by (it takes just a few minutes):